Quidditch World Cup IV: Best Saturday Ever


I checked my directions as my friend and I were both unsure of where we were. As we continued to walk, we past by a group of people wearing similar shirts as one another, almost like a uniform, discussing seekers, chasers and beaters. They were also carrying broomsticks. We knew we were in the right direction. Soon we would be seeing the  IV Quidditch World Cup in NYC.

Yes, you heard me right. The sport of Quidditch created by J.K. Rowling is a college and high sport created in 2005 by Alex Benepe. It’s almost like Rowling’s game except they can’t fly. They call it Muggle Quidditch.

For those non-believers or people who think this lame: You are wrong, very wrong. Everyone was running up and down this field. Muggle Quidditch is a combination of rugby, running and dodgeball.  These kids have to be physical fit especially if you are seeker looking for the snitch. The snitch is not a small flying golden ball, but a person dressed in yellow/gold running around. The seekers are in a rough game of chase and tackle.

For me, my university thought about making a team, but never completed it. I also never went to the meetings. I guess I was too chicken. I’m a little bummed that we didn’t because Saturday was a very magical day. No pun intended.

It started with a link on my facebook about Quidditch at Colleges from one of my friends and jokingly, we should start a team. I read the article and realized the Quidditch World Cup was this weekend in NYC. I figured when would I get the chance to see it again. Yep, you guessed right. I didn’t do work. I went into the city  and I have to say I had the most fun ever.

It was still packed at 5:30 when my friend and I arrived at the Dewitt Clinton Park.  The night before I brushed up on the rules. I knew Rowling’s rules, but I wanted to make sure I knew the Muggle Quidditch rules as well. You can check out their handbook including what brooms are approved and how big your field should be at IQA Rulebook

We watched three matches including University of Richmond v. Ryerson University, Franklin Marshall College and LSU and NYU Ringling College of Art and Design. 46 teams including Emerson College, Stonybrook University,  Penn State and Vassar College was in attendance. It was so fast paced and entertaining.  We didn’t stay for the rest of the night which included aconcert with the wizard rock band “Harry and the Potters” because it did get cold and we were quite hungry.

I’m hoping that if you have no idea what I’m talking about, you keep on reading. It really was such a fascinating thing to watch. Also if you are Harry Potter fan, but didn’t know about this…keep reading.

Like any group gathering of fans, everyone was there to meet new people and discuss their love of the game. Later on when I got pizza, I encountered a team from Carleton University grabbing a slice too. They were wearing muggle clothing, but I knew they were players as I heard them discuss bludgers and quaffles.

I applaud the players and the IQA because they were having so much fun and didn’t care about what the rest of NYC thought. I don’t think I have enough Gryffindor in me to go out and play.

The World Cup lasted for two days, but I couldn’t return for the next day. I found out that Middlebury College, the creators of Muggle Quidditch had won again.

Below are some pictures from the matches I watched…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You want more info, check out:

International Quidditch Association

Great way to start the Harry Potter buzz for “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part I” this Friday. The NYC Premiere is in Lincoln Center today. It’s going be livestreamed, check out mugglenet on where to go.

Leave a Reply

