To be greenlit or not to be greenlit?


Here’s the reality of my situation: Schoolwork is going to kill me this semester. I can’t let this blog die. I won’t. I promise I won’t.

Here’s what I’m going to do including everything else I have to catch up including “Psych” and “White Collar”: I write for my school paper and sometimes my articles don’t make it . The articles that don’t make it will find a home here. Don’t worry they are still about entertainment because that’s what I love to write for.

The changing color of the leaves prompts two things to occur from the television industry. Old shows including “ Desperate Housewives”, “The Office” and “Dexter” return to their fans. New show such as  “The Event” and “Boardwalk Empire” try to gain their own fans and a green light for a second season.

“The Event” may for NBC be what “Lost” did for the ABC network. Viewers know very few things about the premise of this new show.  It is a conspiracy thriller where three stories began to unfold and intertwine.  One involves Sean Walker (Jason Ritter) whose girlfriend disappears from a cruise they were taking.  Another involves the newly elected President Martinez (Blair Underwood) who learns of a big C.I.A. cover up involving a place called the Mount Insotranka Facility. The last story involves Sophia Maguire, (Laura Innes), the leader of the people of the Mount Insotranka Facility. No one knows what the actually “event” is besides the writers, the actors and the network of the show. All “Lost” and “West Wing” should turn their TV’s to NBC, Sept. 20, 9 P.M. to try to unravel the mystery that is “The Event.”

 

To relate the “The Event” to “Lost”, HBO’s new show, “Boardwalk Empire” must be likened to that of AMC’s “Mad Men”.  Like “Mad Men” that takes place in the 1950’s, “Boardwalk Empire” transports its audience to a time of gambling and speakeasies in Atlantic City.  The two men behind “Boardwalk Empire”, Terence Winter and Martin Scorsese, are not shy to having great success on T.V. and the silver screen. Terence Winter was co-executive producer for “The Sopranos” and Martin Scorsese directed “The Departed”, “Gangs of New York” and “Shutter Island” just to name a few.  “Boardwalk Empire” chronicles Atlantic City during the time of prohibition, which prevented alcohol from being sold. It doesn’t stop Nucky Thompson (Steve Buscemi), a politician and gangster who decides that this is the perfect time to make a profit from speakeasies and illegal selling of alcohol. Too bad he’s not the only one.  “Boardwalk Empire” airs Sunday, Sept. 19 at 9 P.M.

“Boardwalk Empire” and “The Event” are only two of the many shows this season that have the chance to either get picked up for a second season or be canceled halfway through. Either way it’s all about the viewers tuning in week after week.

My only two problems are: I don’t have HBO, boo! and I don’t know if I have more room in my t.v. schedule for new shows.

Leave a Reply

