House M.D. Season 6 Finale: “Help Me” Review/Recap


These last two “House” have been ah-mazing. I think it’s the lighting of the sets, the dialogue from the writers and the performace from the actors that made these two episodes awesome.

Tonight’s Season 6 Finale was all about a crane collapse in Trenton and House and Cuddy going to check it out, but not before House gives Cuddy the book written by her grandfather as a housewarming gift. She’s a bit taken aback, but doesn’t say anything. She has to get down to the accident.

At the accident, House meanders through the debris doing some of his doctor duties, but also finding a soda machine and breaking into to get a cold one. Everything changes when he hears a clanging. He alerts the search team which declares they can’t find anything. House of course decides to investigate on his own to find Hannah, a woman with one of her legs trapped below.

On a side note: House takes the crane operator to the hosptial and has his team look him over. The main thing I got from the crane operator is that a second changes everything. The crane operator fell asleep and thus the crane crash. House believes he passed out. Further test confirm he has a sack or something by his spinal cord making him pass out.

Anyway, not really important… this episode is all about Hannah and it’s connections for House.

Now House is extremely nice when dealing with this woman for numerous reasons. 1) It’s her leg and he also has leg issues. 2) Cuddy tells him that she’s moving in with Lucas, but also that she is engaged to him. Oh Snap!

Hannahs says at one point, “I always thought if i did the right thing if i treated people right, good things would happen to me. do you think that ‘s how it works?”

House responds, “I used to. Recently, I tried and now I don’t know.”

Isn’t this the short shtick of life… you never know if Karma is going to be a pain, you never that what you do in life will reward you later on.

Back to the episode:

The whole dilemma that weighs around this patient is how long to long? Should they wait longer or should they amputate the leg? If they wait too long, her body can become infected with crush syndrome. Swell.

House says to wait, they can save the leg. That almost sounds good up until the Fire Captain’s plan falls to move the beam and her leg is crushed even further.

Cuddy speaks to him while bandaging him up after the collapse. She asks why he won’t let her amuptate. He responds, “am I the only one who knows how much a leg is worth?  Oh by the way, he bursted an artery that had to be bandaged in case you were wondering.

Cuddy then point blank tells him that he can’t be using this patient as a way to deal with his own feelings. She’s a person.

C:I don’t love you. Just accept it and move on with your life and instead of making everyone miserable.

H:Great a life lesson from a middle ages single mom who’s dating a man-child.

C: Screw you. I’m sick of making excuses for you and I’m sick of  other people  having to tiptoe around you, making their lives miserable while they try to keep you from collapsing. I’m done.

H:Fantastic. Just stay away from my patient.

C:What are you clinging to, House? You’re gonna risk her life to save her leg. Really worked out well for you didn’t it? Tell me what do you have in your life, honestly, tell me. I’m moving on. Wilson is moving and you have nothing House, nothing.

House thinks about it for a few seconds and then follows Cuddy into the pit. He tells Hannah to amputate her leg. He explains how he wishes he hadn’t kept his leg.

H:You asked me how I hurt my leg. I had a blod clot and the muscle was dying.  AndAll these doctors were telling me to amputate my leg and I said no.  Then they did this very risky operation where I almost died.

Hannah: But they saved your leg?

H: I wish they hadn’t. They cut out a chunk of muscle the size of my fist and left me with this mutilated useless thing and I’m in pain, every day. And it changed me. Made me a harder person, a worst person. And now, now I’m alone. You don’t wanna be like me. You have a husband who loves you, you have friends, you have a family to start, you have a life ahead of you. And this, this is just a leg.

Now since I didn’t watch House from the beginning, can any other viewers clarify if how his leg condition was ever discussed in past seasons? I always thought it was from a motorcycle accident, but I guess not.

House ends up being the one to amputate Hannah’s leg. It looks all wonderful when Hannah is a survivor, brought out of the tunnel, meets up  with her husband and has to go on an ambulance ride to the hospital. It’s even cute when she jokes to her husband that she’s sorry she got rid of her leg because she knows he loved that part of her body.

Then came the ambulance ride and the fat embolism. Then Hannah’s death. Was it not heart breaking with Foreman rushing down the hallway to meet up with House? The doors open and the ambulance is silent. Ahhh, I wanted a happy ending.

Wait… it’s not over.

Foreman catches up with House later and tries to tell him it’s not his fault.

Foreman: You can’t blame yourself for her death. This wasn’t your fault.

House:That’s the point. I did everything right,but she died anyway. Why do you think that would make me feel better.

House then sends Foreman away. House goes home and breaks his mirror to uncover to containers of vicodin! Noo! But wait… Cuddy comes. Like House, I thought she was a hallucination.

It turns out she wasn’t.

The moment the Huddy shippers have been waiting for has arrived in the last minute of the finale. Cuddy admitted to loving him and breaking off her engagement with Lucas. Funny, how an 40 mins ago she was like I don’t love you. It’s not so easy to deny the truth. I guess no more Michael Weston. Boo.

C:I just need to know if we can work.

H: Do you think I can fix myself?

C:I don’t know.

H:Because I’m the most screwed up person in the world.

C:I know. I love you. I wish I didn’t, but I can’t help it.

We can’t help love the people we love. We are all damaged after all.

It was cute in the end when House asked if he was hallucinating. She said did you take vicodin? He shakes his head. Cuddy then responds, I think then we’re okay. Then my favorite part of this whole Huddy interaction, he drops the pills to the floor.

Such a difference from last season’s finale when House checked into Mayfield. I have to say I loved the contrast and I can’t wait to see what Season 7 brings.

Side notes:

  • 13 has gotten worst. Taub, being “her friend” asks why she was late to work, etc. In the end 13 leaves a letter on House’s desk asking for a leave of absence.  I know we didn’t see much of House’s team in this episode, but hopefully next season we will get more of 13 and how her Huntingtons is progressing.
One thought on “House M.D. Season 6 Finale: “Help Me” Review/Recap

  1. A tidbit of irony from the writers–this episode just repeated this past week–you recapped House’s comment about Cuddy’s attachment to a “man-child.” The episode ends with two hands entwined–Cuddy and House’s–and boy does House’s hand look old compared to Cuddy’s. I maintain there was imbedded, intended irony there on the part of the writers. Are they saying there’s a bit of misogynist in House–that he isn’t lacking in prejudice in spite of this stance as being brutally truthful?

Leave a Reply

